Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) will act as a forum of advice and a sounding board for the management and scientific content of the project. The mandate of the SAC is to provide on-going and timely scientific advice on current and emerging issues related to the work carried out by each partners. The SAC fulfils its mandate both by advising on specific questions raised by single partners, or more generally by the SC and the EB, and by providing its assessment of the scientific excellence of the performance of the project. The SAC will explore options and provides recommendations to solve encountered difficulties. Its strategic advice should be based on international trends and scientific developments in the fields of interest to the project. SAC will be consulted in all scientific areas of the project for advice and recommendations, but the decision making responsibility remains with the partners. SAC will be appointed for the full duration of the project. It is constituted by high-ranking scientists from organisations inside and outside Europe. It should meet at least annually. The detailed terms of reference will be established at the beginning of the project.


  • Diane Elson, Professor of Sociology, University of Essex
  • Robert Pollin, Professor and Director of Political Economy Research Institute, University of Massachusetts, USA
  • Bill Freund, Professor Emeritus of Economic History, University of KwaZuluNatal, South Africa
  • Irene van Staveren, Professor of Pluralist Development Economics, International Institute of Social Studies, Erasmus University Rotterdam, Netherlands
  • Brigitte Young, Professor of Political Science, Institut fur Politikwissenschaft, Germany and Senior Scientist, GARNET, EU-FP6
  • Sigrid Stagl, Professor of Environmental Economics and Policy, Institute for the Environment and Regional Development, Vienna University, Austria
  • Charles Goodhart, Professor of Economics, London School of Economics
  • Massimo Florio, Professor of Economics, University of Milan, Italy
  • Eric de Keuleneer, Professor Solvay School of Economics, Free University of Brussels

Stakeholders Group

The Stakeholders Group (SG) is an advisory board composed of important stakeholders in the fields of enquiry of the project. It has two main purposes. First, the Stakeholders Group provides guidance and focus to the project‘s effort, i.e. it informs the creation of the deliverables of the project by providing the necessary link between partners and the public. In other words, SG represents the views of policy makers and other stakeholders. It provides immediate feedback on the presented research outputs, and advises on new aims and objectives. Second, the SG will act as the primary ―customer‖ of the project. In this case, the main purpose of the SG will be to advise on and facilitate the dissemination of policy relevant research results to other relevant stakeholders and the policy community more generally through e.g. the publication of policy reports. The SG consist of high-level representatives from major international institutions as well as other stakeholders. The SG will be formally constituted at the beginning of the project.


  • Stephany Griffith-Jones, Professor of Economics and Financial Markets Program Director, Initiative for Policy Dialogue, Columbia University, USA
  • Hilary Wainwright, Research Director, Transnational Institute, and Former Deputy Chief Economic Advisor, Greater London Council, UK
  • Frank Hoffer International Labour Office, Switzerland
  • Lord Meghnad Desai, Member of UK Parliament and Emeritus Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics, UK
  • Mrs. Lidia Geringer de Oedenberg, Polish member of the European Parliament
  • Jomo K.S., Assistant Secretary General for Economic Development, United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs, NY, USA
  • Natália Nunes, Portuguese Association for Consumer Protection, Portugal
  • Dierk Hirschel, Chief Economist, Confederation of German Trade Unions, Berlin, Germany
  • Krzysztof Opolski, Chair of Banking, Finance and Accounting at the University of Warsaw Department of Economics
  • Massimo Cingolani, European Investment Bank
  • Piotr Banbula, National Bank of Poland